Written In Blood (and Tears!)

One person's climb to (hopefully!) the world of the published novelist…the trials and tribulations of parenthood..and whatever else pops into my head at any given moment!

NaNoWriMo Journey

November 8th, 2011 – Day 8

Well it happened. I broke the 10k words mark, then decided I hated everything and went back to my plotting and planning roots. I now have a relatively solid plot outline summary, which will (hopefully) end up being my blurb at some point in the distant future. For right now though, it’s safely stored on my laptop where nobody can find it. Call me paranoid.

I now have a clearer idea of what on this earth my characters are supposed to be doing, where they’re going and what their bloody motivation is. Thank the writing Gods for that! This business of them just sorta floating about was really making me insane.

I am a MUCH happier NaNo bunny now. I won’t rewrite, what I’ve already done, that would be completely nuts.  I’m just going to continue with it as though it’s always been the way it’s supposed to be (wow did that sentence even make any sense?!?) and will go heavy on the editing come December. I’m feeling MUCH more comfortable and in my zone now.

Pantsers, I salute you. I don’t know HOW the hell you do it.

See you in a couple of days!

J

xx

 

******************************************

 

November 6th, 2011 – Day 6

Oh it’s not going well. I managed to put down over 2000 words last night, which seems like a great achievement. However, I’m only 6,345 words down, which means that as of now I’m 3,657 words behind where I should be. Admittedly, I’m starting to feel a little sorry for myself and the self-doubt has definitely started to creep in. I seem to spend hours looking through the NaNo forums instead of writing, but when I sit down to open up my word document, I freeze. Once I get started, I’m fine, it’s getting started that’s the problem.

I’m tired. I’m cranky and overly hormonal. Tonight I went into full blown meltdown mode, complete with that stupid “crying talk” that women do. You know the one. We know that we just said “everything in my life sucks” but the person we’re with is more likely to hear something totally different. This is especially true if our companion is a man. Sorry guys. It’s true. Women can understand “crying talk” much easier than you can, probably because you don’t do it. Or at least, I’ve never heard a man do it. If I’m wrong, please feel free to correct me. Just do it gently, please.

I don’t think that doing NaNo was a mistake, but I do feel that I have taken on too much already. I’m determined to finish it only because I don’t like letting myself down. At the same time though, how much damage am I doing to myself by forcing the words to come every day when I’m just not feeling it? Or, is this exactly what NaNo is all about? Stopping that inner critic talking over my shoulder? Stopping the procrastination? Probably.

I’m lucky enough to have some wonderful writer friends, both old and new, who are doing a fabulous job of waving their pompoms and kicking my butt in the nicest way possible. I don’t want to let them down either.

I’ll plod along. I’ll get 2000 words down tonight and hopefully feel better by the morning. Fingers crossed.

Happy writing all!

***********************************

November 3rd, 2011 – Day 3

Readers will know that I, insanely and blindly, decided to take part in NaNoWriMo this year. Thanks to Laura Meyer and Jodi Cleghorn’s influence, I decided to totally copy their idea and write a short (ish) journal type thing of my journey through the next 28 days or so.

Here’s a quick rundown of what I’ve learned so far, in no particular order.

  1. I type far too slowly!
  2. Pushing myself to the point of exhaustion to get that word count up may eventually cause damage to my mental health.
  3. I miss sleep.
  4. I love my story.
  5. No matter how much I love my story, I can’t seem to express it on the page the way I see it in my head.
  6. There are many ways to cope with frustration. Unfortunately, one of them is sleep. The other is food. This does not bode well for my already increasing weight.
  7. My husband can be a real slave driver. All I hear from him now is, “You need to write. Shut Facebook OFF!”
  8. I’m going to need a chiropractor in December.
  9. I have some of the best friends a person could ask for.
  10. I’m obsessed with the stupid word counter thing at the bottom of my screen.
  11. I know FAR too many ways to procrastinate.
  12. Writers are incredibly supportive and wonderful people, who will back you up no matter how crappy your day has been or how shitty your writing is.
  13. I actually LIKE not planning! Weird, I know.
  14. Having a deadline is an excellent motivator.
  15. Not editing as I go along is a surprisingly liberating thing to do. Goodbye inner critic, you bitch!
  16. My muse likes to play tricks on me. She’ll say nothing for hours, then BOOM! At midnight, she turns up. I truly hate that, but hey, at least she shows up eventually.

And, a little excerpt. It is unbelievably rough and totally unedited. Please be gentle!

Elijah stopped by Genevieve’s desk as soon as she arrived for work the next evening. She was late and already in a foul mood. The last thing she needed was his damn cheerfulness. What freaking vampire was ever that happy? Insane.

“Hey Gen!” God, how she hated being called Gen.

“Elijah. Hello. How are you?”

“Fan-fucking-tastic! Dinner last night was incredible. I had a little Australian. 1989. Nice vintage.”

“Yes, 1989 was a good year for Aussies.” Genevieve replied and despite her mood, couldn’t help grinning. Vampiric jokes just never got old.

Anyhoo….I did say a little excerpt!

I already adore Elijah, who was a total surprise to me. He just turned up as I was writing on Day 1. I do love it when characters do that.

That’s all for today.

See you all soon!

Jacqui

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

