Written In Blood (and Tears!)

One person's climb to (hopefully!) the world of the published novelist…the trials and tribulations of parenthood..and whatever else pops into my head at any given moment!

Beads and words and Twitter….Oh My!

I love to write.

I love jewellery making.

I love the challenge of NaNoWriMo.

The challenge now is to blend the two. How on earth am I going to do that without one taking precious time away from the other? Let’s also remember that I have FIVE children and a Day Job. I suck at time management. My hubby had to nag me like a madperson last year just to write my words each day because I was caught up in something else.

I was pondering this question the other day when it suddenly struck me that “Lucy” (whoever she is) is going to love jewellery. Certain pieces are going to be important to her, like the silver heart pendant her grandfather gave her when she graduated high school (OK Muse, thanks for that little tidbit that I hadn’t thought of before writing this post!).ย  Other pieces will represent different, important times in her life. You get the idea.

Yes, this means that I will physically design and create all her jewellery for her throughout the month.

This could be absolutely genius, or it could be a total disaster. Either way, I’ll end up with a better insight of her character and some gorgeous jewellery at the end of November. I’m excited and a little terrified. I’d never really thought about how to blend the two things I love more than my family until now, and I’m hoping and praying that it doesn’t turn into a mess.

I’m also a little overwhelmed by all the technology I now have to keep straight. TWO WordPress blogs (this one and one for jewellery although its inactive and hidden at the moment), two Twitter accounts (one personal/writing and one for jewellery), as well as my personal Facebook and my jewellery Facebook page (which, if you’d like to have a peek, can be found here: J Lynne Jewels. I am, admittedly, a newbie when it comes to most of this stuff, and am now feeling just a little bit like a drowning rat. Which one do I update first? How do I make sure none of them are neglected in November? Can I really pull all this off? Isn’t amazing how self doubt just sort of sneaks up on you when you’re not looking? I’m sure I’ll be fine once I get started. It’s getting started that’s the problem!

Any advice for a technologically impaired newbie?

Much love,

Jacqui

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Beads and words and Twitter….Oh My!

  1. I’m not really sure about Facebook, but I recommend Tweetdeck for Twitter. You can be logged into multiple Twitter accounts at the same time and can see them side by side on your screen. It helps with the not-neglecting them ๐Ÿ™‚ I think you can even add a Facebook account to it! http://www.tweetdeck.com/

    • Thankyou SO much!!! I’m definitely going to check that out!! Of course, I could delete one of my Twitters and post jewellery updates on my personal/writing one, but then that could get confusing for me and for my followers who are mostly writer type people…I don’t know. It’s all too much! But in any case, I truly appreciate your advice, and I’ll be looking that up today ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

Leave a Reply

