Written In Blood (and Tears!)

One person's climb to (hopefully!) the world of the published novelist…the trials and tribulations of parenthood..and whatever else pops into my head at any given moment!

Preparation and Panic

Well, here we are again. It’s almost Day One of NaNoWriMo, 2012.

I’m pumped. Terrified, but pumped. I think I might puke.  Last year, I made it to a not too terrible 15,000 words before the flu got me and I couldn’t lift my head up, let alone write. Being pregnant and sick didn’t help matters much either. This year, I’m aiming to beat that word count.  I might not hit the magic 50k (i am nothing if not a realist), but I’ll be happy to get further than I did last year.

Up until a few days ago, all I had to go on was a character name, Lucy, and a setting (blood covered snow in the woods). That was it. These two things kept coming up in dreams, random thoughts, or even on TV.  The name Lucy seemed to be everywhere, and when it started to snow in my hometown, I took it as a sign. I still don’t have too much more, but have been listening to all my favourite music looking for cues (right now, that’s the Rock of Ages soundtrack. Do not judge. It works for me!) and it’s surprising how much is coming up. I am asking my muse lots of questions about my character, and although she hasn’t been too cooperative just yet, I know she’ll turn up eventually, screaming at me to “Just write it down, you idiot! We’ll edit in December!!” My muse can be a bit temperamental.

So..4 days and counting. Are you freaking out yet??

Much love,

Jacqui

xxx

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

